Qualified: 13th – 1:10.7541s

Provisional Pole Position: Scott McLaughlin – 1:10.3067s

Top Ten Shootout

Pole Position: David Reynolds

Race 31 – 250kms / 95 Laps

Finished: 12th

Winner: David Reynolds



With the sun shining for the final day of racing, Newcastle set the stage for the championship decider and fans were set for another nail-biting day of Supercars action.


The Timken Racing team worked well into the night to replace the drivers’ side of Nick’s Supercar after his horror run in with Fabian Coulthard during yesterday’s penultimate race of the championship. With the Timken Supercar looking like new, Nick was on track for this mornings’ qualifying session, and after the 20-minute hit-out he was set to start the final race of the year in 13th position.


The team opted to mix up today’s race strategy for Nick; and had him complete his first pit stop on lap 15. He was in P11 before the stop and re-joined in P19. By lap 47 Nick had moved up to P6 when he returned to pit lane for his second stop of the day. The team had Nick pit again for a third and final stop on lap 73 for a fresher set of tyres and the final splash of fuel. Nick re-joined in 18th, and the aim from here was to push for the 21 laps until the end. Nick charged through the field to finish in 12th.


Nick finished the 2018 Supercar Championship in 11th, and he and team-mate Tim Slade secured 6th in the teams’ championship.


Scott McLaughlin was declared the 2018 Supercars Champion; his first ever championship title.



“It’s been a solid year for the team. Today’s final charge shows we’ve got good pace and can get fight when we need to.”


“When you look at this time last year, we headed into this round in 21st position in the championship, this time around we’ve headed here in 10th, and solidified that to finish the season strong. We’ve had a few random things that haven’t gone our way this year, so I know we can do better again next year.”


“There is no doubt the team are committed to winning and that’s all we want to do. The guys and girls have done a great job this year and I can’t thank them enough for all their hard work.”



1 – Scott McLaughlin - 3944

2 – Shane Van Gisbergen - 3873

3 – Jamie Whincup - 3433

4 – Craig Lowndes - 3225

5 – David Reynolds - 3206

10 – Nick Percat - 2290


See you next year for the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercar Championship!

Published: 25 November 2018.

#8 Nick Percat

Brad Jones Racing

© Copyright 2019 Brad Jones Racing