Qualified: 21st – 1:28.7665s

Pole Position: Scott McLaughlin – 1:27.9494s


Race 21 – 300kms / 77 Laps

Finished: 8th

Winner: Shane Van Gisbergen



The inaugural Sydney SuperNight event was the first time since 1997 that the Supercars have raced under lights on home soil. The night race drew a crowd of 34,000 people, and over a million more tuned into their TV’s to watch the action.


Nick was the biggest mover in the 300km race, driving the wheels off the Mrs Mac’s & Dare Iced Coffee Supercar; a whopping 13 spots forward to finish inside the top ten, in 8th position.  


The solid effort from Nick and Freightliner Racing team-mate Tim Slade saw a solid combined point haul which has taken the Brad Jones Racing squad from 6th to 4th in the team’s championship. Nick now only sits 39 points of Scott Pye in 10th in the drivers’ championship and is undoubtedly hunting down a spot for himself inside the top ten.



“From the starting position, it looks like we made up 13th spots but we ultimately made up more. I had a good start to the race but got unloaded there a couple of times during the first couple of laps so found myself back in 25th. From then on I was putting everything I had into each and every lap to move back forward.”


“The Mrs Mac’s & Dare Iced Coffee Supercar performed really well in the colder conditions, it looked after its tyres well and I feel like we had minimal tyre degradation. We know it was fast as we broke the race lap record, and then Jamie Whincup was the only other to get under that time, only just beating me by a hundredth of a second!”


“I passed a lot of cars which is good, but as always you want to start much higher than what we did, even a couple of spots helps out as it could have meant I was in front of Reynolds and Kelly after the stops. I feel like we had pace on them but couldn’t get around them in the latter laps.”


“Overall it was mega to get back up to 8th. It was cool to make some big moves in the race, and it was a lot of fun racing under lights in front of a huge Sydney crowd. They really got behind this which was awesome to see.”



Round 11 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship

OTR SuperSprint

The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA

24 – 26 August 2018



1 – Scott McLaughlin - 2575

2 – Shane Van Gisbergen - 2490

3 – Jamie Whincup - 2146

4 – David Reynolds - 2030

5 – Fabian Coulthard - 1796

11 – Nick Percat - 1510

Published: 05 August 2018.

#8 Nick Percat

Brad Jones Racing

© Copyright 2019 Brad Jones Racing